Newsletter subscribe


What Are The Six Types Of Protections You Can Seek In Seattle?

Posted: January 3, 2018 at 9:27 am   /   by   /   comments (0)

In the state of Washington, a person can file for an order of protection against someone who is threatening them or behaving in an abusive manner. The main objective of the order of protection is to stop one party (the “respondent”) from contacting the other (the “petitioner”). There are varying degrees of the types of orders of protection that a person can seek according to how dangerous their situation is. An “extreme risk” protection order is intended not to cut off communication, but rather to force a “respondent” to surrender any weapons that they might be in possession of.

The type of order that someone seeks depends on the situation they are facing. There are six different protection orders that a petitioner can request from the court. There are specifics related to who can seek a protection order, what they can try to protect themselves from, and the protection that will be offered to the petitioner.

Anti-harassment Protection Order

An anti-harassment protection order is used when the petitioner is the victim of harassment by another person. An anti-harassment order might be filed by either an adult who is being victimized by harassment, or the parents of a child under the age of 18 who they believe is being harassed. A parent has the right to file a petition against any adult whose behavior has a negative effect on their child, any minor child who has a history of harassing their child, or anyone who is being investigated for doing so.

Domestic Violence Protection Order

If you are the victim of domestic violence, then you can request a domestic violence protection order, which is initiated to protect you from violence. Those who can petition for a domestic violence protection order include anyone who is married, has a domestic partner, a person who has a child with someone else, people who live together, anyone who is 16 or older and in a dating relationship, anyone who is related through marriage or blood, and anyone who is in a parent-child relationship, which includes step-parents and grandparents.

Domestic violence is defined as sexual assault, stalking, fear or intimidation, bodily harm, or assault.

An Extreme Risk Protection Order

Someone would request an extreme risk protection order so that law enforcement has the right to stop the respondent from either having control or custody of a firearm, or purchasing or possessing one. To have an extreme risk protection order approved, you must prove that the respondent poses a danger of injury, either to themselves or to someone else.

Sexual Assault Protection Order

Anyone over the age of 16 can file a sexual assault protection order if they have been a victim of sexual assault, unless they qualify instead for a domestic violence protection order. Someone other than the victim can file on the victim’s behalf if the victim is not of age, is vulnerable or impaired, they have a disability, or they have no access to healthcare.

Stalking Protection Order

A stalking protection order is a petition that someone can file if they don’t qualify for a domestic violence protection order. A stalking protection order can be filed by the victim of a stalker, or by someone other than that person (in the case of minor children), someone who is vulnerable or impaired, or someone who is concerned for the victim.

Stalking is defined as being harassed repeatedly. It also includes any behavior that intimidates, frightens, or harasses someone that the respondent either knows or even doesn’t know. It can also include electronic communication.

Vulnerable Adult Protection Order

To file a petition for a vulnerable adult production order, the victim must be abandoned, abused, financially exploited, neglected or had the threat of any of those circumstances. The order is filed on behalf of the vulnerable adult. Someone who is considered vulnerable is anyone over the age of 60, someone who is over 18 but is incapacitated, is developmentally disabled, has been admitted to a care facility, or receives in-home care or has a personal aide.

If you are fearful of someone in your life, there are ways to prevent them from having access to you. There are six different types of protection orders in Seattle to help keep yourself or someone you love safe.

Comments (0)

write a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.